Sex. Food. Culture. Death.

This program used to be called "Sex. Food. Culture. Glory". This year the last part was changed from "Glory" to "Death". The resurrected series continues the culturological studies of most talked-about and extreme works of documentary and live-action cinema ranging from films intended for the popular audience to the exclusive and unique works.
 
Sexuality is best of all represented by Mediterranean culture: the Italian political parable “Porno and Liberty” starring the porn actress and a member of Parliament Cicciolina and a movie about the ballet by the master of Italian cinema Davide Ferrario “Sexxx”.
 The Japanese film “Miso Soup for Hana” transplants the viewer into a totally different cultural context. National cuisine (as well as transnational love affairs) turns out to be something more than a form of ascertaining one’s own uniqueness. It is a most important tool of cultural interaction – and not merely culinary. 
 
Armenian culture of the crucial period following the disintegration of the Soviet Union is revealed in its controversial entirety in David Safaryan’s 28:94 LOCAL TIME. The director has worked at this movie for almost a quarter of a century. Its tragic epic scale (albeit more modest), reminds one of the famous series “Game of Thrones”.  The quest for the epic scale of a series is carried on by the eight-hour-long film by the Filipino Lav Diaz “Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mysteries”, which was screened at the Berlinale. It brings us to the discussion of death as the main topic of this year’s program “SEX”. 
 
In this film the plot revolves around the search for the body of Andreas Bonifacio, while in Pablo Agüero’s “Eva doesn’t Sleep” starring Gael García Bernal and Denis Lavant we follow the misadventures of the embalmed body of Eva Peron, the leader of the Argentinian people, the once legendary Evita. 
 
Kirill Razlogov

Секс. Еда. Культура. Смерть.

Возрожденная программа С.Е.К.С, где последнее С было закономерно преобразовано из Славы в Смерть, продолжает культурологические штудии на материале самых актуальных и экстремальных произведений как документального, так и игрового киноискусства в весьма широком диапазоне от самого массового до эксклюзивно уникального.
 
Сексуальность наиболее ярко представлена средиземноморской культурой: итальянской политической параболой «Порно и свобода» с порно-звездой депутатом парламента Чиччолиной и фильмом о балете мэтра итальянского кино Давиде Феррарио с символическим названием «Секссс» .
 
В совершенно иной культурный контекст зрителя переносит японский фильм «Мисо суп Ханы». Национальные кухни (как и транснациональные любовные отношения) оказываются не только формами утверждения собственного своеобразия и уникальности, но и важнейшим механизмом взаимодействия культур, причем не только кулинарных.
 
Армянская культура на переломе эпох после развала Советского Союза раскрывается во всей своей противоречивости в картине Давида Сафаряна «Местное время 28 часов 94 минуты». Эта лента, над которой режиссер работал почти четверть века своим трагическим эпическим размахом напоминает, пусть в меньшем масштабе, знаменитый сериал «Игра престолов». Погоню за эпичностью сериалов продолжает показанная на Берлинале восьмичасовая лента «Колыбельная печальной тайне» филиппинца Лава Диаса, выводящая нас на проблематику смерти, как основную для программы С.Е.К.С. этого года. 
 
Если здесь канву повествования составляют поиски тела Андреса Бонифацио, то  в картине Пабло Агуэро «Эва не спит» в компании звезд Гаэля Гарсия Берналя и Дени Лавана мы следим за злоключениями забальзамированного тела лидера аргентинского народа Эвы Перон – некогда легендарной Эвиты.
 
Кирилл Разлогов