Towards the 120th Anniversary of “Gaumont”

With its production facilities, distribution and cinema halls networks and a catalogue of the most prestigious films in the world “Gaumon” is at present one of the most influential players in the world of film business. Its history is inseparable from that of the 7th art and the 114 years of its existence ensure its unique status based on experience and the ability to change.
 
In 1895 when Leon Gaumont, who was then 31, took the reins of “Comptoir Général de la Photographie”, nobody suspected that it would give rise to the only company in the world which is as old as cinema itself. The company was engaged in selling optics and photo materials. Leon Gaumont was very enthusiastic about the works of Edison and the Lumiere brothers, firmly believed in the future of cinema and starting from 1900 decided to produce projection equipment. Then he turned his attention to sound (chronophone) and color (chronochrome). In 1903 his mother’s first name Marguerite gave him the idea for the company’s famous logo. His secretary Alice Guy suggested that they should sell the equipment that they produced together with short filmed sketches. Leon Gaumont agreed but on condition that the filming should be done outside the working hours. That is how in 1896 Alice Guy became the world first female director and the first producer. All in all she directed about 300 films and even experimented with sound, making 110 phonoscenes. The productions tackled all cinema genres – comedies, dramas, police movies, science-fiction, Westerns and even cartoons, which were invented by Emile Kohl, who also worked in the company. Later Louis Feuillade became artistic director of “Gaumont” and directed such famous movies as “Judex”, “Fantômas” and “The Vampires”.
 
In 1897 “Gaumont” started filming chronicles. The famous “Actualités Gaumont” were screened every week before the film.
 
In 1910 Leon Gaumont bought the hippodrome in the Clichy square in Paris and turned it into an enormous cinema hall with 3400 seats. It was the Gaumont-Palace, the greatest film theatre in the world. Since that time the company has bought and managed cinema halls throughout France, thus ensuring its control over the entire chain from the production of the projection equipment to the public screenings.
 
In 1925 Leon Gaumont signed a distribution agreement with “Metro Goldwyn Mayer” and created a new company GMG, “Gaumont Metro Goldwyn”, which operated for three years.
 
Leon Gaumont retired in 1930 with the advent of the talkies. His company became “Gaumont Franco Film Aubert” (GFFA). It pursued the increase in the number of cinema halls and produced some masterpieces like the immortal “Atalante” by Jean Vigo.
 
In 1938 GFFA became “Société Nouvelle des Etablissements Gaumont” (SNEG) and Alain Poiré became its general secretary and later production and distribution director. Over the course of his career this charismatic person produced and co-produced more than 150 features, many of them became cult movies. 
 
In 1975 Nicolas Seydoux became President of “Gaumont”. He acquired more cinema halls and chose an even more ambitious production policy.
 
The arrival of Daniel Toscan du Plantier meant a more flamboyant style and European productions aimed at the wide audience as well as avant-gardist masterpieces. He invented the notion of film-opera exemplified by “Carmen” by Francesco Rosi and “Don Giovanni” by Joseph Losey.
 
In the mid-80s Patrice Ledoux produced “The Big Blue” and “The Fifth Element” by Luc Besson, as well as “The Visitors” by Jean-Marie Poiré.
 
Today the company is headed by Nicolas Seydoux as president with Sidonie Dumas as director general and Christophe Riandee as her deputy. It runs a huge number of cinema halls jointly with “Europalaces”. It owns hundreds of masterpieces which are the dream of film lovers throughout the world. Among them are “Tontons Flingueurs”, “Oss 117”, “Cent Mille Dollars”, “Soleil”, “Diner De Cons”, “La Folie Des Grandeurs”, “La Boum”, “La Chevre”, “La Nuit De Varennes”, “Fantômas” and “Nikita”. The remarkable actors and directors who worked at those films, wrote some beautiful pages in the history of cinema.
 
In recent years “Gaumont” has been actively producing, financing and distributing films in English and French at once. A notable example is a box-office hit “The Intouchables”, which it co-produced, distributed in France and sold worldwide.
 
In addition to French films it co-produces English-language movies such as “Perfect Mothers” (Anne Fontaine), “The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet” (Jean-Pierre Jeunet) or “Only God Forgives” (Nicolas Winding Refn).
 
“Gaumont” boasts the second richest film catalogue in France, which includes more than 900 titles with works by prestigious directors like Luc Besson, Matthieu Kassovitz, Francis Veber, Jean-Jacques Beineix, Federico Fellini, Maurice Pialat or Jean-Luc Godard.
 
In addition to its production and distribution activities, “Gaumont” in collaboration with “Pathé” operates the largest cinema halls network in Europe “Cinémas Gaumont Pathé”.
 
“Gaumont” tries to ensure its presence in all sectors of audiovisual media. With the assistance of its American branch “Gaumont International Television” it released the series “Hannibal” which was aired by NBC, and “Hemlock Grove” which could be seen over Netflix.
 
“Gaumont” has turned its gaze towards the future, its artistic interests are diverse as always, all the subdivisions are attuned to the evolution of the art which the company has always promoted.

К 120-ЛЕТИЮ СТУДИИ «ГОМОН»

Располагая производственными мощностями, прокатной сетью, внушительным каталогом престижнейших фильмов в мире, компания «Gaumont» сегодня является одним из ведущих игроков в киномире. Её история неотделима от истории кино, а 120 лет существования обеспечивают ей уникальный статус, опирающийся на богатый опыт и способность беспрестанно обновляться.
 
Когда в 1895 г. Леон Гомон, которому тогда был лишь 31 год, возглавил фирму «Comptoir Général de la Photographie», никому и в голову не могло прийти, что он дал жизнь единственной в мире компании-ровеснице кинематографа. Фирма занималась продажей оптики и фотоматериалов. Леон Гомон с большим воодушевлением отнёсся к работам Эдисона и братьев Люмьер, поверил в будущее кинематографа и с 1900 г. решил сам производить киноаппаратуру. Затем занялся проблемами звука и цвета и запатентовал аппараты хронофон и хронохром. В 1903 г. имя матери – Маргарита - навело его на мысль создать знаменитый логотип фирмы. Его секретарь Алис Ги предложила сопровождать презентации продаваемой аппаратуры маленькими кино-скетчами. Леон Гомон дал согласие, при условии, что съёмки будут проходить в нерабочее время! Вот так в 1896 г. Алис Ги стала первой в мире женщиной-режиссёром и первым в мире продюсером. Она сняла около 300 фильмов и даже экспериментировала со звуком в фильме со 110 фоно-сценами. Её продукция охватывала все жанры – комедия, драма детектив, научная фантастика, вестерны и даже мультипликация, которую изобрёл работавший там же Эмиль Коль. Затем художественным директором компании стал Луи Фейад, который поставил такие знаменитые фильмы, как «Жюдекс», «Фантомас» и «Вампиры».
 
С 1897 г. «Gaumont» начала снимать кинохронику. В 1910 появились знаменитые «Новости от Gaumont», которые каждую неделю демонстрировались в кинозалах перед фильмом. 
 
В 1910 Леон Гомон покупает ипподром на площади Клиши в Париже и превращает его в огромный кинозал на 3400 мест – самый большой в мире. Так родился Дворец Гомон. С этого момента компания начинает приобретать залы по всей Франции, обеспечив себе, таким образом, контроль над всей цепочкой от производства аппаратуры до кинопоказов зрителю.
 
В 1925 г. Леон Гомон подписал прокатный договор с МГМ и создал новое общество - GMG, la Gaumont Metro Goldwyn, просуществовавшее три года.
 
Леон Гомон удалился от дел в 1930 г. с приходом звукового кино. Его компания превратилась в «Gaumont Franco Film Aubert» (GFFA). Новое руководство продолжило развивать сеть кинотеатров и производить фильмы, среди которых было немало шедевров, таких как «Аталанта» Жана Виго.
 
В 1938 г. GFFA превратилась в «Société Nouvelle des Etablissements Gaumont» (SNEG), которое возглавил Ален Пуарэ. Этот харизматичный человек стал продюсером или со-продюсером более 150 полнометражных фильмов, многие из которых приобрели статус культовых.
 
В 1975 г. президентом «Gaumont» стал Николя Сейду, который с размахом взялся за дело – существенно увеличил количество кинотеатров, выработал более амбициозную производственную политику.
 
Даниэль Тоскан дю Плантье был сторонником более броского стиля. На его счету успешные постановки, рассчитанные на широкую публику, равно как и авангардистские работы. Он же ввёл в обиход понятие «фильм-опера», среди которых особо выделяются «Кармен» Франческо Рози и «Дон Жуан» Джозефа Лоузи.
 
В середине 80-х годов Патрис Лёду станет продюсером «Голубой бездны» и «Пятого элемента» Люка Бессона, равно как и «Пришельцев» Жан-Мари Пуарэ.
 
На сегодняшний день президентом «Gaumont» остаётся Николя Сейду, Сидони Дюма – генеральный директор, а Кристоф Рианде – заместитель генерального директора.
 
Совместно с «Europalaces» «Gaumont» владеет обширной сетью кинотеатров, где демонстрирует такие картины, как «Дядюшки-гангстеры», «Агент 117», «Сто тысяч долларов на солнце», «Ужин с придурком», «Мания величия», «Бум», «Невезучие», «Ночь Варенны», «Фантомас», «Никита». Это сотни шедевров, о которых мечтают зрители всего мира. Они снимаются непревзойдёнными режиссёрами с участием великолепных актёров. Компания вписала в историю кино несколько прекрасных страниц.
 
В последние годы «Gaumont» ориентируется на производство, финансирование и прокат фильмов сразу на французском и английском языках. Компания участвовала в частности в копродукции картины блокбастера «1+1» и занималась её прокатом во Франции и международными продажами. Компания также финансирует фильмы на английском языке – «Тайное влечение» Анн Фонтэн, «Невероятное путешествие мистера Спивета» Жан-Пьера Жёнэ, «Только Бог простит» Николаса Виндинга Рёфна.
 
Сегодня «Gaumont» является обладателем второй по величине коллекции фильмов во Франции, включающей более 900 наименований, среди которых работы таких известных режиссёров, как Люк Бессон, Маттьё Кассовиц, Франсис Вебер, Жан-Жак Бенекс, Федерико Феллини, Морис Пиала или Жан-Люк Годар.
 
В дополнение к продюсерской и дистрибьютерской деятельности «Gaumont» вместе с «Pathé» создали самую большую сеть кинозалов в Европе «Cinémas Gaumont Pathé». 
 
«Gaumont» стремится обеспечить своё присутствие во всех секторах аудиовизуального рынка. При содействие международного филиала «Gaumont International Television» был создан сериал «Ганнибал», транслировавшийся по NBC, и «Хемлок Гроув», который можно было посмотреть на канале Netflix.
 
Сегодня взгляд «Gaumont» обращён в будущее, в сферу интересов по традиции попадают самые разные направления, все подразделения компании нацелены на эволюцию того вида искусства, пропагандистом которого она всегда была и остаётся.